getLinks(); ?>

Manchester United the Red Devils club

                   Profile Of Manchester United :
Manchester United have been the dominant force since the Premier League's inception in 1992.
The Red Devils have won 12 titles and two Champions Leagues under their long-serving manager Sir Alex Ferguson.
The likes of Arsenal and Chelsea have challenged United in several seasons since the Premier League began, winning three titles apiece, but Ferguson has always rebuilt his squad ensuring that the Red Devils bounce back from the odd indifferent campaign.
Ferguson, who in the 2010-11 season overhauled Liverpool’s record of 18 league titles by helping United to their 19th, has been at Old Trafford since 1986 and will be a hard act to follow when he finally retires.

Quick Facts:

  • Founded: 1878
  • Home Ground (Capacity): Old Trafford (76,212)
  • Nickname: The Red Devils
  • Home Colors: Red and White
  • Top Goalscorer All-Time: Bobby Charlton
  • First Division/Premier League Titles: (19) 1907–08, 1910–11, 1951–52, 1955–56, 1956–57, 1964–65, 1966–67, 1992-93, 1993–94, 1995–96, 1996–97, 1998–99, 1999–2000, 2000–01, 2002–03, 2006–07, 2007–08, 2008–09, 2010-11
  • FA Cup Titles: (11) 1909, 1948, 1963, 1977, 1983, 1985, 1990, 1994, 1996, 1999, 2004
  • League Cup Titles: (4): 1991–92, 2005–06, 2008–09, 2009–10
  • European Cup/Champions League Titles: (3) 1967–68, 1998–99, 2007–08
  • European Cup Winners' Cup: (1) 1990–91
  • UEFA Super Cup: (1) 1991
  • Intercontinental Cup: (1) 1999
  • FIFA Club World Cup: (1) 2008

The Team:

  • Current Manager: Sir Alex Ferguson
  • Top Goalscorer 2010-2011: Dimitar Berbatov (21 in all competitions)
  • Captain: Nemanja Vidic
  • 2010-2011 League Finish: 1st

Manchester United Squad:

1 De Gea ·2 Rafael ·3 Evra ·4 Jones ·5 Ferdinand ·6 Evans ·7 Valencia ·8 Anderson ·10 Rooney ·11 Giggs ·12 Smalling ·13 Lindegaard ·14 Hernández ·15 Vidić (c) ·16 Carrick ·17 Nani ·18 Young ·19 Welbeck ·20 Van Persie ·21 Henríquez ·22 Scholes ·23 Cleverley ·24 Fletcher ·25 Powell ·26 Kagawa ·27 Macheda ·28 Büttner ·33 Bébé ·

A Little History:

The club was formed as Newton Heath L&YR F.C in 1878, but changed its name to Manchester United in 1902.
The Red Devils won their first title in 1908, but it was not until the 1950s, and after the great Sir Matt Busby had taken over as manager, that the club enjoyed its first period of sustained success.
He steered the club to three championships over the decade, and United also became the first English club to compete in the European Cup, where they lost in the semi-finals to Real Madridin 1957.
The club endured its darkest day in 1958 when the plane carrying the team home from a European match crashed, killing eight players in a tragedy known as the Munich air disaster.
Busby, who survived the crash along with arguably the club's greatest ever player Sir Bobby Charlton, rebuilt the team. A side featuring the dazzling George Best and Denis Law won two league titles in the 60s, before claiming their maiden European Cup, defeating Benfica in the 1968 final.
After Busby resigned in 1969, no manager came close to emulating his success until Ferguson arrived in 86. After reportedly coming within one defeat of losing his job in 1990, Ferguson built a dynasty at Old Trafford and the club have now won more league titles than Liverpool.
A crop of home grown players who came through in the 90s including Ryan Giggs, David Beckham, Paul Scholes and the Neville brothers, Gary and Phil, were integral to many of the club's triumphs.


Post a Comment


Google With Me

Google+ Followers




Active Search Results

Sonic Run


hitstats Webutation